Animated Poster

This was an assignment for my course, Being Human in A Digital World (1F02). The task given to me was to create an animated poster about one of the modules taught. I focused on a module about digital communities. I learned about how companies like Apple, Microsoft and Google (MAG) are using and selling their consumer’s personal information. , I felt passionate about the fact that giant corporations like MAG are taking advantage of their user’s ignorance by monitoring and selling their information online. My privacy is very important to me and For-profit online communities restrict me from having that. This advertisement’s target audience are people who do not have full control online because of these companies. I feel as if many users constrained by these corporations. A lot of every day users are ignorant to the fact that this is happening to them and this poster is allowing them to realize it. The poster paints a clear and minimalistic message that using FOSS will stop these corporations from monitoring and selling their data. I created the entire image in Photoshop by myself and used nothing from the internet. I chose my design because I wanted the audience to feel like their online life was under surveillance by these companies using a minimalistic design.

This relates back to our coursework in 1F01. We learned about surveillance and sousveillance. These companies are watching and monitoring the users so the Free and Open Source Software Movement is using sousveillance to counter that.

poster

Leave a comment